Sunny Days

I wish I could write.  More I mean.

I want to, and sometimes I try, but unless it’s just in my journal it’s so hard.  There’s so much out there.  So many other people who want the same thing: to write and create and talk to people.  It should be simple, just write some stuff down and lo and behold everyone loves it and it amuses them or makes them think or they realize that they’re not the only people who think like they do in the world. Haha, but yeah it’s not for me.

I’m not even sure I can do anything as awesome as that.  I wrote about haircuts…no one cares what my hair looks like.  Sounds depressing, but it’s true.  If I read something about that…well I wouldn’t read it in the first place so never mind.  So how do you do something that’s different?  How do you say something different from everyone else in the world?  Or maybe that’s not what it’s about.  Maybe it’s about bringing to people’s attention that we’re all the same.  Not superficially, of course, but really we are.

How do you feel when someone cuts you off in traffic?  Angry? Annoyed?  For the most part, I’d be willing to bet that everyone feels the same.  So why do people do it?  Does it not run through your head that the person you’re about to swerve in front of has feelings too?  Cameron would just roll his eyes and brush off any comments like that, but this isn’t just some stupid thing- being nice to people I mean.  I’m sure this sounds super hippie but who cares.  If people weren’t so freaking mean to everyone then I wouldn’t have to worry about walking alone at night.  I wouldn’t have to worry about the lady downstairs calling the cops on me.  I wouldn’t worry about what people think when they read what I write…

Some people say that it doesn’t matter what other people think, but I beg to differ.  Why else would we feel embarrassed or regretful or ashamed.  Why do we bother giving people presents or apologizing when you know you’ve hurt someone’s feelings?  Even when someone screams at you or tells you that they hate your entire being, it matters.  Not necessarily what they say, but what they’re thinking and maybe not telling you certainly matters.  If you know someone doesn’t like you, you may say you don’t care, but the majority of people probably do (keep in mind I’m excluding sociopaths).

I’m not really sure where I’m going with all of this, so forgive me if it seems jumbled, but I really just wish that for one day everyone could be nice.  Like really nice.  No negative actions.  No negative thoughts.  Everything would be so different.  Everyone would feel so different.  Just good inside, and happy.  Just picture an amazing day.  Nothing is better than perfect weather on a perfect day.  That’s how I imagine it would be.  That’s the best feeling in the world, to me at least.

You wake up and shower, your hair looks awesome, skin is glowing, not too tired, then you step outside and the sun touches your skin and it’s just the right amount of warmth and brightness.  Everyone walks with a skip in their step and is friendly and happy all day long.  It sounds corny, but we had one of those days recently.  Just remember how you felt.  I know I just wanted to make everyone I encountered smile that day.  Happiness was just trying to push itself out of my chest and I felt like I could do anything I wanted…

Feeling like that everyday?  Dream come true.

But then again, who would appreciate it?  Maybe that’s why we don’t have it everyday.  So that when it does come around we love it that much more… Should caring about other people really be like that though?  Having friends and making people smile should be a reward no matter how often you encounter it.  Should be something to strive for.

So if anyone ever bothers to read this one post, written by me, out of all the other things you could be doing with your time- you can start by not cutting that next person off.

Leave a Reply

