Trying to Become a Runner

My Little and I have started to run a few times a week using this sweet app called Couch-to-5k.  Basically, it gives you set time periods to run and gradually increases them over time.  So far we’ve gotten through three weeks.

Week One, Day One through Three: 5 minute warm-up walk, then alternate 1 minute jogging and 1 1/2 minutes walking for total of 20 minutes.

Week Two, Day One through Three: 5 minute warm-up, and cycles of 1 1/2 minutes jogging then 2 minutes of walking for total of 21 minutes.

Week Three, Day One through Three: 5 minute warm-up then two repetitions of jogging for 1 1/2 minutes, walking for 1 1/2 minutes, jogging for 3 minutes, and walking for 3 minutes.

It’s going alright so far.  Her calves cramped up pretty bad when we first started and she’d get charlie horses while she was sleeping but other than just being tired I think she’s doing well.  As for me, I get this stitch in my side that refuses to be ignored and I have to stop and sit to make it go away.  It’s happened like three times so far despite my awesome breathing skills.  I hate it because not only do we have to stop and that inconveniences my little as well as my cardiovascular workout, but I feel like a baby that can’t handle a pain.  Geeezzzz.

So we started “stretching” before we go out.  But we only focus on our problem areas so basically for ten (maybe twenty) seconds before we go running she’s up against the wall stretching her calves and I’m trying to stretch my obliques out in the middle of the room looking like some weird windmill.  I won’t drink water before I run because Google says that’s a cause of a stitch and we stocked up on bananas for her.

Man, we’re such pros.

Other than the negative side of running though, I’m really starting to like it.  This morning we went out and my phone wasn’t charged so I couldn’t listen to the app or my music and had to follow my Little’s lead throughout the duration of our run.  I was worried at first that I wouldn’t be able to finish without the distraction of music because focusing on the pain and when the the current run period would be over would overwhelm me but was pleasantly surprised.

Because I had to stay with my Little I was running slower so that helped to pace me which I’m sure played a big role but I also had her to focus on instead.  I spent most of the first part of the run analyzing how she was running.  Let me preface this next bit with when you focus on the details of anything, things start to seem weird and funny (if you haven’t already, try thinking about how weird noses are on other people and you’ll see what I mean).  So I’m behind her and looking at how her feet are hitting the ground and how she’s lifting her legs and started laughing to myself multiple times.  I really glad she didn’t look back because I would hate for her to think I was laughing at her.  I guess I kind of was, but hopefully you understand what I mean.

So that got me through the first half and the second I started paying attention to my own body and how it was moving.  I started with my hands.  I usually cup them when I run instead of making fists so feeling the air around my fingers was very cool.  Then I fixed my posture and tried to make myself feel the bounce as I was running on the sidewalk.  I relaxed my muscles after that which seems weird I suppose since I was running but really calms you down so that the jogging kind of turned into a calming activity.  My upper body felt so calm and light and my lower half felt like a machine.  The running wasn’t even really a factor.  It was a very beautiful thing.

I didn’t even realize we were done with all the cycles when she finally stopped running because I was so inside my own head.  I love that.

I do not love that she wants to run everyday this week, however, hahaha.  Oh well it’ll be good for us.  That just means I seriously need to stick to my bedtime this week.  I can do it though.

Week Four, Day One: “Brisk 5-minute warmup walk.  Jog for 3 minutes, walk for 1 1/2 minutes, jog for 5 minutes, walk for 2 1/2 minutes, jog for 3 minutes, walk for 1 1/2 minutes, jog for 5 minutes.”

I can do that too!

Leave a Reply

